2nd Chakra – Sacral Chakra Copy

Second Chakra – Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Tibetan Note ~ C

Nurture, Receptiveness and Emotions

Also known as Svadhisthana (meaning sweetness, the dwelling place of self), this is the cup of life, from the womb, creating life, to the centre, where all your creative energy is birthed. The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen between the navel and the genitals. It leads us from a basic existence to help us embrace what makes life worth living. The Hindu symbol is a six-petal lotus flower containing a white circle, symbolising the element of water, and a light blue crescent moon. This energy is the centre for creating relationships of all kinds. It is where we develop an inward sense of self and an outward sense of others, ego, sexuality and family, and is defined as we work with this energy. The feelings of other people are directly perceived through mastery of this chakra’s energy.

The relationship we have with ourselves is the most important one to nurture, the rest are reflections of that relationship. If you want your outer relationships to blossom, then start with your relationship with yourself and your body. Exercises to balance and maintain health for this chakra are pelvic thrusts and circular movements.

The sacral chakra is mostly associated with women. Healing here can create profound life changes. It controls creativity and expression. It is the chakra that also relates to our gut feelings and intuition, optimism, joy, liveliness and imagination. Buddhists call this “hara” the centre of being through which we connect with the deepest voice of the self, the deepest stillness and wisdom.

Physically it is a reflection and controlling force for the reproductive and urinary systems. Just as the sacral chakra is located in the pelvic area, it relates to the colon, bladder and gallbladder. It is part of the digestion and assimilation.   The ovaries/testes are the glands associated with this chakra.

When the sacral chakra is too open/overactive/congested (chakra spins too fast):

Emotionally unbalanced; a fantasist; manipulative; controlling; lustful; addictions; aggression; the desperate need for approval; dangerous or unhealthy sexual behaviour; sexual ambivalence; feelings of guilt/blame.

When the sacral chakra is blocked/weak/depleted (chakra spins slowly or not at all):

Overly sensitive; hard on oneself; feels guilty for no reason; frigid or impotent; co-dependent; submissive; doesn’t feel anything; shut down; sexual problems, dysfunction or illness; lack of desire or ability to experience pleasure; jealousy; anger; problems with bladder and small intestine; lower back pain.

When the sacral chakra is balanced/healthy (chakra maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed):

Trusting; expressive; attuned to one’s own feelings; creative; healthy relationships and sexuality; empathy; wellbeing; connection; delightful emotions; happy; vivacious; sexually fulfilled; relationship connections are solid; experiences pleasure easily and without guilt.


* I love and enjoy my body * I have healthy boundaries * I am open to experiencing the present moment through my senses * I am passionate * I feel pleasure and abundance with every breath I take * I nourish my body with healthy food and clean water * I know how to take care of my needs * I value and respect my body * I am open to touch and closeness * I allow myself to experience pleasure * My sexuality is sacred * Emotions are the language of my soul * I take good care of my physical body * I am at peace *

Download Sacral Chakra here.